Should You Hire an Attorney After an Injury in California?

July 27, 2021 Posted In Personal Injury

After a preventable injury in California, you may be wondering if you should hire an attorney. Not every case requires one, but some accidents are complicated. A personal injury lawyer can help determine if you have grounds for a claim, which parties are responsible, and how much compensation you are entitled to. Here are a few situations when it would be in your best interests to hire an attorney.

Your Injuries Are Serious

In some personal injury accidents, such as a car crash or slip and fall accident, you can walk away with minor cuts and scrapes. While you should still get examined by a medical professional, these situations may not call for legal representation. However, there are cases when accidents result in a temporary or permanent disability that impacts a victim’s ability to do their job or live their former lifestyle. If your injury is severe and has resulted in extensive medical bills, lost income, and an inability to do your job the way you used to, you should speak to and hire a personal injury attorney. They will make sure you get the compensation you need to pay your bills and fully recover from your injury.

Your Claim Gets Denied

Insurance adjusters are known to use tactics to devalue or deny valid claims altogether. If this happens to you, you may need to contact a qualified lawyer to make sure you get the compensation you need. It’s important to note that you are not required to talk to an at-fault party’s insurance company at all. An attorney can handle the claim for you and deal directly with the insurer to negotiate your claim. 

Liability Is Not Clear

When multiple parties are involved in an accident, fault may not be immediately apparent. You may be forced to file numerous claims, or you may not be sure who to file a claim against. In this situation, an attorney can help you by investigating your accident to determine which parties should be held responsible, as well as navigating the claims process. 

Liability is Disputed

If the responsible party is denying liability, contact an attorney. Because of California’s rule of “pure comparative negligence,” any blame they place on you can significantly reduce your compensation. This law allows multiple parties to be liable for an accident and reduces each party’s compensation by their assigned percentage of fault. For example, if you are awarded $50,000 and found 80 percent to blame, you will only receive 20 percent of the award or $10,000. When fault is disputed, your attorney will conduct an in-depth investigation to collect evidence that supports your claim and ensures that liability falls on the appropriate parties. 

Contact Our Personal Injury Lawyers

If you have been injured by another person or company’s negligence, contact an experienced personal injury lawyer at Hanson & Mouri today. Even if you are unsure whether you have a case or not, we offer free consultations and can discuss your legal options.

Request a free consultation
request a free ,br>consultation
ALL FIELDS REQUIRED*
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.