If you are hurt in a traffic crash caused by a negligent driver, you are entitled to pursue compensation for your injuries. However, if the negligent driver was on the clock in a company vehicle at the time of the wreck, the driver’s employer may be responsible for your injuries under vicarious liability. Contact Hanson & Mouri in Riverside, CA today for dedicated legal representation in a company vehicle accident claim.
“Respondeat superior” or vicarious liability is a doctrine under which employers are responsible for the actions of their employees. Under this doctrine, employers are liable for negligent actions (or non-actions) committed by employees while they are working in the scope of their employment. For an act to be within the scope of employment, it must be authorized by the employer or closely related to an authorized act.
In most company vehicle accidents, the employer’s liability coverage pays for the injured party’s damages, indemnifying the employee who caused the crash against third-party actions. This means the insurance company protects the employee from having to personally pay damages to the injured accident victim. The insurer will also pay the employee’s legal fees if he or she is named in a lawsuit to recover damages.
In certain situations, the employer’s insurance company will not cover an employee who causes a car accident. These situations include:
Company vehicle accidents can be complicated. If you have been injured in such an auto accident, call Hanson & Mouri right away for a free consultation. Our Riverside lawyers have more than 20 years of experience in all matters of personal injury law.
Page: Uninsured Motorist Accidents
According to the Insurance Information Institute (III), despite financial responsibility requirements under state law, an estimated 15.2 percent of drivers in California are uninsured. This means your chances of being involved in an accident caused by an uninsured motorist are not that slim. If you are injured in such an accident, call Hanson & Mouri in Riverside as soon as possible. We can protect your interests and increase your chances of receiving maximum compensation for your losses.
The minimum liability coverage drivers are required to carry in California is:
In California, you can purchase uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage to protect yourself in case an uninsured or underinsured driver causes a crash. If the driver who caused your accident does not have the minimum auto liability insurance required by law, your uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance should cover you for at least those minimum amounts listed above. Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage amounts are generally in line with liability coverage in a policy. Buying more coverage can provide you with greater protection in case of a serious accident.
After a crash caused by an uninsured motorist, you can file a claim with your own insurance company if you have uninsured motorist coverage. If you do not have the coverage or your claim is denied, you have the option to try to obtain a settlement from the at-fault driver. If your settlement attempts fail, you may file a lawsuit in civil court against the at-fault driver to recover for your injuries.
An experienced personal injury lawyer can provide professional guidance and increase the likelihood of recovering full and fair compensation if you have been hit by a driver who was uninsured. Our Riverside attorneys can investigate your accident, fully assess your losses, and negotiate with insurance companies on your behalf. We can also protect your interests in court, if necessary.
A car accident caused by an uninsured motorist can leave you wondering who will cover your medical bills and other damages. Even if you have uninsured motorist coverage, the insurance company may deny your claim or offer a lowball settlement that is far from adequate to cover your losses. Contact the Riverside personal injury attorneys at Hanson & Mouri right away for dedicated legal assistance if you have been injured in an uninsured motorist accident.